Banner by luisperes.net

Freya by Matthew Laurence

 

Headlines

NEW: Viking Books and Series
I have a new section on the website that is all about viking books both historical viking and norse fantasy.

NEW HBO Series: A Game of Thrones
HBO is producing a series based on the George RR Martin A Song of Ice and fire series of books. To be released early next spring and starring Lena Headey and Sean Bean.

The Massive list of Fantasy Series
Looking for a series to read? Here is the biggest list of fantasy series on the web.

Award Winning Children's fantasy books
Awards are a sure fire way to find the best books in Childrens Fantasy.

The Heroes of Fantasy
Learn about some of the top heroes in fantasy also find one by theme such as assassin, wizard, anti-hero or orphan turned hero.

The Top 50 Science Fiction and Fantasy books of the Century
As judged by the Science Fiction Book Club. Nice explanation and list of the books. Good Guide for the best reading in SF&F.

The Top Selling Fantasy books at Amazon.com
Take clues from what others in the fantas community are reading and buying

Book review - Freya-
review by Becky

Freya is the myth. Freya is the legend. And she’s about to make one hell of a comeback.

There's far more to Sara Vanadi than meets the eye. In her prime, she was Freya, the Norse goddess of love, beauty, war, and death - though that past hardly seems to matter now. For an ancient goddess in the 21st century, true believers - and the strength they bring - are painfully hard to find. But when a new, rising power threatens to remake the world by bending the divine to its will, Sara realizes her days of hiding have ended, and a chance to claw her way out of the history books has arrived. She'll just need new clothes and a manicure before she gets started. Blending elements of fantasy and scifi in a modern-world setting, the first novel in this new young adult series by Matthew Laurence is perfect for fans of Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

Available on amazon.com here: Freya

 

Becky's Review

Really enjoyed this book. It is refreshing to find a norse fantasy novel that focuses on a single god and not the whole pantheon. It is also highly refreshing for the underlying moral/ethical debate behind the characters and storyline. That of If Gods are real, do they do more harm than good? This is explored well within the character of Freya who is a Goddess of multiple specialities - Love, War, Beauty and Death. 
For in Freya's story you learn that a lot of gods from centuries past have survived despite critical low levels of belief or worship keeping them alive. However, soon Freya's secret life in a psychiatric care home is discovered by an elusive powerful and well connected coorporation looking to recruit Gods with the offer of factory produced belief in exchanging of utilising their powers for the companies own ends - or non-existence.
Freya of course being the type of God she is doesnt comply but due to her weakened state she runs. Dragging Nate, a mortal who had just got a new job at the care home, into a life changing adventure.
Involving Disney World, magic, secrets, gods from other pantheons, danger but also some touching moments of laughter.
Great fun to read and definitely the first in a series. I for one look forward to Freya's next adventure.

 

 


About Rebecca
Want to adventure throught the lands of the Vikings? The height of the Vikings is an amazing period of time and there is a lot of great fiction that is based on historical facts from that period and place. Rebecca Wilson has written a guide to the genre and to some of the best works in the genre.

If you are fascinated by the subject of Vikings you should check out her blog at: http://www.soulchaserbecky.blogspot.com/


You can follow her on Twitter @soulchaserbecky.

Related Fantasy Guides:

 

 

About Us | Site Map | xml sitemap | Privacy Policy || Contact Us | Submit to this site!| ©2004-2017 Kalif Publishing |